BaselWorld 2008: Rolex Update

by

Unfortunately we did not have a chance to enter the Rolex stand today, but I promised my co-author, RJ, to make some picutures of Rolex today, hereby:

Rolex is not the first stand when you come in, but does have a prominent stand:
Rolex stand

Rolex Daytona in Pink Gold (sorry for the bad pictures, was in a rush
Rolex Daytona

Rolex Day Dates II
Rolex Day Date II

Rolex Submariner White Gold with Blue bezel (aka The Smurf)
Rolex Sub

Rolex NEW Sea-Dweller (43mm) is also nick names Dipsy (Deep-Sea)

Rolex Sea Dweller

Rolex Sea Dweller from the side (I believe 18mm thick!)
Rolex Sea Dweller Side View

More Rolex Sea Dweller
Rolex Sea Dweller

Can’t get enough of it😉
Rolex Sea Dweller

OK! Now it is enough! Tomorrow more news😉

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “BaselWorld 2008: Rolex Update”

  1. David Says:

    Nice! Keep it coming Alon!

  2. Menno Says:

    That Sea Dweller looks fine. I still fancy a black/steel submariner more though. That white gold / blue colouring really take all the subtility off of the Sub.

  3. Robert-Jan Says:

    Great work Alon! The opinions about the Dipsy seem to differ over at the Dutch Rolex Forum. Can you help us out? How is it ‘in the flesh’?

    RJ

  4. alonbj Says:

    @David: Thanks.

    @Menno: Black & Steel is indeed the most timeless version.

    @RJ: Thank you. Unfortunately I did not have the watch in my own ‘flesh’ and had thick glass between the watch and myself, but personally I am a fan of big watches! As far as esthetics; although the watch is very thick, it looks alright since the diameter grew too! And this is a historic milestone for Rolex to ‘grow’ to 43mm. On a technical note, I also think they made an interesting innovation: waterproof till 3900m by creating a patented ring lock system. As I heard from a Rolex retailer they also created a new adjustable double system to lengthen the strap. The thing I personally dislike, since I am in favor of LESS = MORE, the engraved ‘flange’ with the titles: “Origina Gas Escape Valve” and “Ring Lock System”… I don’t see the added value!

  5. David Says:

    @Menno: I personally think we can expect a steel Sub wit the new ceramic bezel in black at the next iteration of Baselworld…

    @Alon: Agree… they probably thought they had to fill that extra real estate provided by the ring with something. I agree with you that less=more and they shouldn’t have. Is the text as perceptible on the real thing as it is on the pictures?? (I know the rolexrolexrolex inscription on the 2007- rolexes is more apparent on pictures than in real life)

    What I think they did well is that the whole case looks a bit more ‘inflated’… despite the big diameter and thickness of the watch, the proportions seem right… (from the pictures)

  6. alonbj Says:

    @David: As said before, I didn’t have it on my wrist, but as a WatchFreak who is crazy about details, I know it would annoy me…

  7. Baselworld 2008 pictures Says:

    […] BaselWorld 2008: Rolex Update В« WatchFreaks Apr 7, 2008 … BaselWorld 2008: Rolex Update. By alonbj … RJ, to make some picutures of Rolex today, hereby: … […]

  8. Jane Alba Says:

    I heard too from few rolex retailers they also created a new adjustable double system to lengthen the strap.

Leave a Reply

