Seiko Spring Drive Spacewalk and EVA by Richard Garriott

by

At Baselworld 2008, Seiko announced the creation of the first watch ever designed specifically for a spacewalk. Richard Garriott, who is to be the first person to wear it in space, is on schedule with his training and other preparations. He will blast off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan as planned in October this year.
Regrettably, however, it now seems that although Richard’s space trip to the International Space Station is still on schedule, his spacewalk will not take place. Richard announced the cancellation of the EVA to the public on his website:
http://www.richardinspace.com on June 11.
Seiko is very disappointed that this has happened. The Spring Drive Spacewalk watch has been specifically designed to withstand the extreme conditions of an EVA, and Seiko was looking forward to this early opportunity to have its capabilities put to the ultimate test, and proven, on this mission. Seiko is still determined to prove the watch on a spacewalk; SEIKO Watch Corporation, Seiko Epson, and Space Adventures are now exploring the earliest possible alternative opportunity of an EVA. The first watch ever designed from scratch for a spacewalk will, one day soon, be proven. Below is the message by Richard Garriott on his website.

Quotation from Richard Garriott’s website


“In April the Seiko Watch Corporation announced that I will be taking a specially designed ‘Spacewalk’ watch into space with me. The intention was for me to wear this on a spacewalk, but unfortunately my dreams of a spacewalk have not materialized. But I still plan on taking the Seiko watch with me to the ISS.
I have the Seiko watch with me for a couple months now and this is what I can tell you about it. I visited the Seiko factory in Japan in early March. During this visit I met the amazing team that created this watch. In talking with them, and learning about what they went through in designing the watch, my enthusiasm and respect for Seiko grew immensely. My knowledge of what goes into making fine watches grew, and with that, my faith that the watch would perform very well in the unusual and extreme environments of space.
I have been wearing the watch through my training and it has already provided great service and survived through some torturous training. Most recently, I performed a nominal 4g and a ballistic 9g re-entry simulation in the centrifuge. While these extremes challenge the human body and have recently destroyed a competitors watch worn by my backup in this simulation, the Seiko clearly had no problem with these conditions. I also subjected the watch to high temperature and humidity which also destroyed a watch I was previously wearing.
Next month I will subject the watch to what might be its most dangerous conditions on the ground, when I conduct my water landing survival training in the Black Sea. I will also have the chance to test the watch on a few zero-g parabolic flights prior to my spaceflight in October.
Not only has the Seiko Spacewalk watch proven to be a survivor in these difficult conditions, but it has proven to be invaluable as a critical timepiece and a beautiful addition to the amazing technologies of space travel. In my opinion it is something Seiko should rightly be proud of.
I look forward to making additional reports to you, especially of course, after my flight in October. While I personally won’t be able to take the watch with me on a spacewalk, I and representatives from Space Adventures are working hard to get the watch an opportunity to be tested outside the ISS. It will be an honour to be the first person to bear this fine device into the cosmos, and I look forward to telling you more about it.”
Richard Garriott
Mr. Richard Garriott’s mission is organized by Space Adventures, the company headquartered in Vienna, Virginia, USA, and which organized the flights for the world’s first private space explorers.

For more information about Richard Garriott’s mission, please visit
www.spaceadventures.com

Related Press Release at URL issued on April 3 at Baselworld 2008:
www.seikowatches.com

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Seiko Spring Drive Spacewalk and EVA by Richard Garriott”

  1. David S Says:

    No disrespect to Mr. Garriott, but in my opinion there is only one watch that belongs in space, and it is not Japanese…

  2. Robert-Jan Broer Says:

    Totally agree with David S.

    For EVAs, it should be this one: http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=4034

    RJ

  3. alonbj Says:

    @David: When are you going to be like Scott Carpenter? ;)

  4. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    After reading the article, I feel that I really need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some resources please?

  5. bhupinder Says:

    the champion of a space watch will be determine by the most actuate time-keeping from the elements.

    OMEGA has a difference of about 20 odd minutes (not sure) ; and for SEIKO, need to wait for results.

    SEIKO already proved herself of a strong, and better than most Swiss mfg. in time keeping accuracy and power reservation.

  6. deff Says:

    200m Flight Chronograph
    I have the black one of this watch, which if u get the black one the paint chips away. but thats besides the point for this watch. what i want to say for this watch is that its good weight but the face of the watch is kind a small. i would have liked it more if the face was 2-3 mm more. other than that it functions well. over all its a good watch.

  7. men watches online Says:

    men watches online…

    [...]Seiko Spring Drive Spacewalk and EVA by Richard Garriott « WatchFreaks[...]…

  8. camera backpacks best buy Says:

    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net
    from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a variety of websites
    for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.

    I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all
    my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  9. best recording studios Says:

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Many thanks!

  10. New Balance Running Says:

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you’ve bought here, certainly like what you are saying and the way through
    which you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and
    you continue to take care of to stay it wise.

    I can not wait to read far more from you.
    That is really a tremendous site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

