One Watch

by

How easy would it be to own just one watch? Just one watch that satisfies all my watch needs. Way back, I mentioned this thought already on the fratello blog, but just recently I was triggered to think about it again.

A little while a go, a friend of mine and I attended the Düsseldorf watch fair. At the watch fair, we teamed up with some more familiar Dutch faces. Among them was my long time friend Johan. I went to school and college with this guy and back then, he didn’t care about watches the same way I did. However, as time passed he started to investigate which watch he liked best. After a while, he narrowed it down to one brand. Then, he made a short list of which watches in the brand’s collection he liked best. Just about a year ago, he decided to go for the Rolex Explorer II with a white dial. 

Anyway, when we were on our way home after having said goodbye to Johan and the other guys we’d met that day, we discussed how easy it would be to own just one watch. One watch that does the trick for you. We ended the discussion with the fact that we envied Johan for having peace by owning ‘just’ one watch and not having the urge to go out and buy the next one. One watch that’s just the perfect watch for you. You did your research and window shopping and in the end, the Rolex Explorer II is the perfect watch. Wow! I just can’t do that. Several times, I thought about selling all my watches and get one time piece back that I like best, but then I will immediately long for that vintage Speedmaster or the extra time zone feature like my GMT-Master has. However, it would make things a lot easier. I also think it is way nicer to pass down just one watch to your kids as the watch ‘dad’ always wore than passing down a whole collection of watches. They probably don’t know what to do with it, and since there are so many of them, they don’t have that sentimental value for them :)

Explorer II by Johan

On the other hand, he probably collects other stuff. Guys collect stuff. If it wasn’t for watches, I probably had an urge to buy vintage fountain pens or Dinky Toys or Märklin Trains or comics or [fill-in].

9 Responses to “One Watch”

  1. Speedmaster Says:

    If I was to go with one watch it would almost certainly be a Rolex Sub or SD, neither of which I own at the moment. ;-)

  2. Robert-Jan Broer Says:

    @Speedmaster:

    I used to think the same thing. I only had Omegas and thought a Sea-Dweller would solve the addiction. It didn’t ;)

  3. Rob Says:

    You are right, guys do like to collect stuff — so why fight it unless it gets to be too much of a burdensome addiction. I’ve gone through a fountain pen collecting stage, and am now collecting Märklin Trains. So, perhaps watches is next for me?

  4. robertjanbroer Says:

    @Rob: A good idea, it’s both about mechanics :) (unless you are collecting the Märklin Digital stuff).

    It is also funny to see that girls/women do not collect stuff. Buying new Prada shoes or Gucci bags is not collecting of course. If women would collect like guys, than they probably would be collecting the catalogues from Gucci handbags from 1972 till 1982 or the lipstick-turn-system by Chanel from the 1910s-1950s. (I am making up these things as I really don’t know what they would be doing :)) No offense to the few women who are collecting, I have seen a few on watch fairs and even on the annual P(anerai)-Day.

    RJ

  5. alonbj Says:

    @RJ: I always say WatchFreaks have a virus and THERE IS NO CURE ;) Don’t fight, just let it take control of you and enjoy the ride! BTW: About the kids, are you only planning on one child….

    @Rob: The watch-virus will come, trust me ;)

  6. Terry Leiby Says:

    I have an original Omega LED watch with two buttons for sale. I am the original owner and it’s in good shape. It also has the original horseshoe magnet to adjust the time and date. I will sell to the highest bidder.

  7. http://www.gonavarra.com Says:

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles daily along with
    a cup of coffee.

  8. Stuhrling Emperor Says:

    This site certainly has all of the info I needed concerning this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

  9. Rolex Milgauss, proven unpopular? • Fratello Watches Says:

    […] to me that only few forum visitors/members have a Rolex Milgauss in their collection (or as their only watch). When I just visited the sales corner of ‘das R-L-X’ forum, I noticed quite a few for […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

